March 16, 2017: Dancing Devil

Morning: Matthew 14:3-21; Noon: Deuteronomy 17:14-21:9; Evening: Psalm 46

Dancing is not sinful, but the devil uses dancing to sin. This is important to understand, because some Christians have been unable to disassociate the two. Jesus directly spoke about dance at least on two occasions, and both times He spoke of it in positive terms, “We played the flute for you did not dance… his older son was in the field and… he heard music and dancing” (Luke 7:32, 15:25). As I’ve watched my one-and-a-half-year-old listen to children’s music she tends to naturally move and dance to the rhythm of music without any coaching or influence from her parents. Rhythm, music, movement, and dancing all appear to live within the natural sphere of men’s lives all throughout the world.

While we could speak at length about the benefits to be gained from one kind of dancing there is also much that can be lost because of another kind of dancing, the dancing devil kind! Jesus lost a dear friend due to this kind of dancing. Matthew tells us that when the daughter of Herodias “danced” before Herod and “pleased” him, he made an oath to give her whatever she wanted (Mat. 14:1-12). Some wish to refrain from associating any kind of sexuality into the daughter’s dance, but whatever could it mean that it “pleased” Herod? Could mere amusement have had such a powerful effect on Herod’s mind? Knowing that Herod was an adulterer after all, one would be hard pressed to make such an argument. Furthermore, one would be hard pressed to deny that dancing can be a form of sexual gratification. Celebrity Mick Jagger himself said, “Dancing is a replacement for sex.”

I can’t help but keep coming back to the fact that my Lord lost a dear friend due to this dancing devil. I suppose He could have condemned everything altogether at that point. Just deny man any sense of physical or emotional gratification. Jesus is Lord after all. But He didn’t. Instead, He went to a deserted place for a while. He “regrouped” so to speak. He didn’t even get the rest and time alone He was probably hoping for. The crowds followed Him so He kept working. He kept teaching. He knew that was where the real power for change was at. I admire my Lord. I am not always like Him. I tend to react and throw everything out the window. I abuse my power sometimes, and condemn the very things I speak positively about. I fall right into the trap of that dancing devil so I can cut off the head of the very thing I hate. Lord, help me to trust in your ways so that I may not become like that dancing devil!

Where do wars and fights come from among you? Do they not come from your desires for pleasure that war in your members? You lust and do not have. You murder and covet and cannot obtain. You fight and war. Yet, you do not have because you do not ask” (James 4:1-2)

Leave a Reply

